The Tea House: Making Art in the Social Media Age

Bizarro Central

by Spike Marlowe

photo (3) Today is brought to you by a hot toddy.

Over at the delightful Myth and Moor blog, amazing writer, editor and artist Terri Windling recently discussed the issues surrounding using the Internet as a break while working.

Go on, go take a look. I’ll wait.

I definitely struggle with my Internet usage. It’s not that the Internet beckons and distracts me from my work, but that because I am a professional editor and writer, the online promotions are an essential part of my work. And yeah, I enjoy the Internet, too. It’s not been uncommon for me to get online when it’s time to take a break and see what’s up on Facebook or Twitter or Tumblr or Bizarro Central or my favorite news outlet. The thing is, when I’m done, I feel super-unsatisfied and definitely further away from the work at hand. I’ve also noticed…

View original post 243 more words

Leave a Reply

